State delegation meets Union minister for Environment;State’s stand made clear on Kasturirangan report: CM Bommai

Dr B Thomas (Special correspondent)

A state delegation led by Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai met union minister for Environment Bhupender Yadav today.

Speaking to media persons after the meeting, Bommai said,we have made the state’s stand clear on the Kasturirangan report.

All the states had opposed the earlier Gadgil report.Then came the Kasturirangan report.The report has been prepared without any ground survey by relying completely on satellite imagery.

The green areas are about to be declared as Eco Sensitive Areas.The life of the people in these regions is intertwined with nature.

It is covered with coffee, areca, coconut and rubber plantations.The reality would not be known unless a ground survey is done.This is our stand,Bommai said.

The Kasturirangan report has been prepared without obtaining the opinion of local people, Gram Panchayats and Taluk Panchayats, Bommai said.

High level committee constituted

A high level committee headed by retired IFS officer Sanjay Kumar has been constituted with Director of IISc,Director General of Geological Survey of India,former professor of IISc RC Kumar and other experts as the members of the committee to study the natural habitat,crops being grown, life and culture of the people.

The committee has been mandated to give its report in one year.Till then it would not be possible to implement the Kasturirangan report. This has been conveyed during the meeting, Bommai said.

Kasturirangan report is unscientific

The Kasturirangan report is unscientific.A high level committee has been constituted to formulate the report on a scientific basis.

There is scope to save the environment and livelihood.Union minister Bhupender Yadav was requested to visit the concerned regions.He has assured to do so, Bommai said.

Union minister Shobha Karandalje,BJP State president,Nalin Kumar Kateel,BJP National General Secretary,CT Ravi,MP Pratap Simha, ministers Govind Karjol, Araga Jnanendra and others were part of the delegation.