Padma Awardees Doctors Forum Condemn Death of a Senior Doctor in Assam Beaten to Death by the Patient’s Relatives

1st September 2019:  Dr Deben Dutta was attacked by workers of Teok Tea Estate in Assam’s Jorhat district on Saturday and later succumbed to his injuries at the Jorhat Medical College and Hospital.

As per media, relatives of 33-year-old Sukra Majhi, a casual worker, took her to the hospital inside the estate, in critical condition at 12 noon. Dr Dutta and the pharmacist were not present in the hospital. The nurse on duty pushed a saline but Majhi died which enraged the workers of the garden. When Dr Dutta arrived at about 3.30 pm, he was severely beaten up and locked in a room in the hospital. At about 5 pm police from Teok police station and CRPF personnel rescued the doctor and rushed him to JMCH here where he succumbed to his injuries. IMA Assam has called for a “24-hour withdrawal of medical services excluding emergency on September 3.

The time has come for the Prime Minister of India to intervene and stop these types of atrocities against the doctors. The forum is aware that the health ministry is trying to build a central act against violence but the same should be done on an urgent basis and through an ordinance. Also, the prime minister should raise this issue now and in the monthly Man ki Baat.

The forum fully supports the IMA Assam and National IMA to take the issue to its logical end.

Dr KK Aggarwal




Padma Awardees Doctors’ ForumDr P Venugopal, Dr P Lal, Dr Naresh Trehan, Dr SC Manchanda, Lt General BN Sahi, Dr KK Talwar, Dr M Khalilullah, Dr Ashok Seth, Dr TS Kler, Dr Neelam Kler, Dr D S Rana, Dr B K Rao, Dr Randeep Guleria, Dr P K Dave, Dr N K Ganguley, Dr Ambrish Mithal, Dr Sghiv Sarin, Dr Mahesh Verma, Dr Arvind Lal, Dr Madan Mohan, Dr Harsh Mahajan, Dr Anoop Misra, Dr Kalyan Banerjee, Dr NP Gupta, Dr Yash Gulati, Dr AK Grover, Dr KK Sethi, Dr GK Khatri, Dr Nikhil Tandon, Dr Saumitra Rawat,  Dr NK Pandey, Dr NM Shroff, Dr Raman Kapoor, Dr Ganesh Mani, Dr AK Bhalla, Dr Nitish Naik, Dr M Wali, Dr Randhir Sud, Dr RK Grover, Dr Malvika Sabharwal, Dr DS Gambhir, Dr AS Soin, Dr Sanjeev Bagai, Dr Upendra Kaul, Dr Yog Raj, Dr Sanjeev Bagai, Dr Atul Kumar, Dr Alka Kriplani, Dr J S Tityal, Dr J L Gupta, Dr D Triguna, Dr Deepak Sehgal,k Dr V K Gupta, Dr Vipin Buckshey, Dr Jagdish Prasad, Dr R K Caroli, Dr P K Sethi, Dr P K Julka, Dr P S Maini, Dr Sandeep Guleria, Dr P D Nigam, Dr Balbir Singh, Dr Praveen Chandra, Dr Padma Shrivastava, Dr Mahipal Sachdeva, Dr Harsh Kumar, Dr Subhash Gupta, Dr S P Yadav, Dr B S Chaubey, Dr Ashok Rajgopal,