GSTTA launches upcoming League’s Logo on World TableTennis Day

Hiten Shukla
Gujarat State Table Tennis Association launched the logo of the upcoming Gujarat Super League as it celebrated The World Table Tennis Day along with the Annual Awards 2018-19 in Surat on Saturday.

The State Association also rewarded international, national medalists, para athletes and state champions, in various categories, during the vibrant ceremony held at the Gateway Hotel here.

“This year The World Table Tennis Day celebrations are going to be all the more special. The blueprint for the up coming professional league is ready. It is one big leap. Very few associations have attempted it. As a president of the Association it is proud moment for me and I congratulate all the people who have worked hard for this,” said Shri Vipul Mittra, IAS, GSTTA president as he launched the logo.

GSTTA senior vice-president Nisheeth Mehta, senior vice-president Pramod Chaudhary, secretary Haresh Sangtani and treasurer Amit Choksi along with district unit officials attended the gala function during which 31-paddlers were honoured. 

International paddler from Surat Harmeet Desai, who won gold in team event and bronze in men’s doubles at the Commonwealth Games in Australia besides historic bronze in the men’s team event at the Jakarta Asian Games walked away with the Overall Player of the Year award. It was a complete Surat dominance with Manav Thakkar and Frenaz Chipia, who recently got married, were named Best Men and Women of the Year. Manav was also part of the bronze medal winning men’s team at Jakarta Asiad.

 Para Asian Games medalists Ahmedabad-based Bhavina Patel and Sonal Patel were also honoured.

 Manush Shah of Vadodara, who played a crucial role in Senior and Junior National and Inter-State Championships was named Junior and Youth Boys player of the year. He also had bagged double –  Youth and Junior Boys titles in 80th Junior & Youth National Championships 2018 held at Sonepat. Ahmedabad’s Kausha Bhairapure returned with a brace – Junior and Youth Girl awards.