Defeat for Chennaiyin FC B against Ozone FC

Hiten Shukla

Chennaiyin FC B lost 3-0 to Ozone FC in the 2nd Division League at the Bangalore Football Stadium here today. Three first half goals got the better of CFC B, whose search for a first win of the campaign continues.

CFC B face Kerala Blaster Reserves in their next outing at the SSN College Ground in Chennai on Thursday 21st March 2019 at 3:30 PM.

There were five changes to the Chennaiyin side that drew 1-1 with South United FC two weeks back here in Bengaluru. Keeper B.Y. Revanth came in for Samik Mitra in goal while Charles Britto and Surya Tirkey made way for Joseph Lalsanglura and Mohammed Sarif Khan in defence. The other two changes were Zonunmawia and Kyntiewshaphrang Kharlukhi replacing Vijay Thangavel and Ajin Tom in the starting eleven.

After a tight opening few minutes, Ozone took the lead through C.S. Sabeeth, after a through ball put him one-on-one with Revanth in the CFC goal. Chennaiyin tried to hit back instantly with Joysana Singh and Aman Chetri threatening, but their attempts were off-target.

After a brief spell of CFC domination, Ozone doubled the lead in fortuitous circumstances. Revanth’s save from an Ozone shot went in off Shaiborlang Kharpan.

CFC striker Krishna Pandit along with Aman went close to scoring with successive attempts soon after, but their efforts were just off the mark.

Ozone then made it 3-0 on the stroke of half time, as Shaiborlang got his second, converting with a first-time attempt after a long pass.

Attacker Vijay Thangavel replaced midfielder Zonunmawia early in the second period as the game became more end-to-end. Bawlte Rohmingthanga and Krishna Pandit were a threat at one end while Revanth made a couple of impressive saves at the other, from one-on-one positions. Revanth unfortunately had to go off few minutes later after he suffered an injury while collecting a cross.

CFC were incisive in the attacking third in the closing stages, but the goal eluded them as Ozone won the encounter by a 3-0 margin.

Score: Ozone FC 3 (C.S. Sabeeth 22’, Shaiborlang Kharpan 33’, 45+2’) beat Chennaiyin FC B 0