Chief Minister to Inaugurate East Bengal Sports Club Museum on 16th August

Abhijit Ray, Kolkata: -West Bengal Chief Minister Ms Mamta Banerjee is going to inaugurate the Sports Museum of East Bengal Club, Kolkata.East Bengal Football Club is an Indian association football club based in KolkataWest Bengal, which competes in the top tier of Indian football. East Bengal joined the National Football League since its inception in 1996 and is the only club to play all seasons till date, even after its name change to I-League in 2007.[3] East Bengal have won the National Football League thrice: 2000–01, 2002–03 and 2003–04 and became runners up 7 times, the most number of times by any Indian football club till date. Among other trophies, East Bengal have won the Calcutta Football League 39 times, IFA Shield 38 times, Federation Cup 12  times and the Durand Cup 19 times.Apart from domestic success, East Bengal club has been extremely successful among Indian football clubs in the international arena, having won four trophies on foreign soil including the famous ASEAN Club Championship too which is one of the biggest football tournament in Asia region.Within the centenary, the museum is being built in the club premises. Museums are a matter of note in traditional clubs such as Barcelona, ​​Real Madrid, Bayern or Manchester United. Museum visits are inextricably linked with football tours.What is going to be in this museum? According to sources, the display of all the glorious achievements of East Bengal is going to get maximum space in this sports museum. First Shield in 1943, Durand in 1951 to Asean win in 2003 – all the trophies, jerseys signed by the footballers, will be preserved in various memorabilia museums. There is also the idea of ​​retaining the evolution of the East Bengal jersey design since the 1920s. That being said, any East Bengal fan can visit this museum without any entry fee.

East Bengal have made 55 appearances in the AFC Cup which is the most by any Indian club in the continental competition till date. They also appeared eight times in the AFC Cup which is the most number of participations by an Indian side ever till the year 2022. East Bengal is the only one Indian club has won the most number of international trophies. Their first ever international trophy was the Wai Wai Cup held in Nepal. Their second and the famous triumph on international soil was winning ASEAN Cup in Jakarta, Indonesia and their third trophy was San Miguel International Cup held in Nepal.