Task Force would be constituted for each of 8 Zones in Bengaluru: CM Bommai

Pramesh S Jain & Dr B Thomas (Special correspondent)

It has been decided to constitute a Task Force for each of the 8 BBMP zones in Bengaluru,Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai said.

The Chief Minister was speaking to media persons after visiting the rain affected areas of Nagappa Layout at Ramamurthy Nagar in KR Puram Assembly constituency.

Each Task Force would be headed by a minister and it would consist of local MLAs, MPs, MLCs and senior officials as its members.

These Task Forces would oversee the development works,relief operations during flooding and other emergencies.

Orders in this regard would be issued today itself, Bommai said.

Referring to the flooding in Nagappa Layout, Bommai said,a huge quantity of water flows into Hebbal valley from Yelahanka and Hebbal.

We have decided to set up additional STP plants in places which we visited yesterday.The railway over bridge near Horamavu is one of the causes for water logging.

We have decided to extend and widen the drain further down from the railway over bridge at a cost of Rs.42 cr to enable smooth flow of drain water.

Tendering process would be initiated soon and work would be completed by next February. Permission would be sought from ITI authorities for land to extend the storm water drain by another 900 metres.

This would ease the flooding problem in 3-4 layouts of Ramamurthy Nagar. Buildings have come up on drains in some parts here and authorities have been instructed to clear them,” Bommai said.