Akshit, Kausha crowned champions in 2nd Open Ahmedabad Ranking Table Tennis Tournament

All winners group photo.

Ahmedabad: Akshit Savla recorded an upset win while Kausha Bhairapure endured a mixed day in the finale of the Blue Buddha 2nd Open Ahmedabad Ranking Table Tennis Tournament.

In the men’s final, fourth seed Akshit shocked second seed Monish Dedhiya 11-7, 11-7, 11-6, 11-6 to win the title.

Meanwhile, in the women’s final, second seed Kausha had a battle in hand as she overcame a gritty Pratha Pawar, top seed, 5-11, 11-5, 7-11, 11-9, 11-9, 5-11, 13-11 to win the title.

The win meant the duo shared the honours on the final day at the SAG Sports Complex in Khokhra Maninagar as third seed Pratha had beaten top seed Kausha 11-13, 15-13, 9-11, 11-7, 11-5, 9-11, 11-3 to win the Junior (U-19) Girls’ crown. 

Second seed Pratha also won the Junior (U-17) Girls’ title as she beat top seed Nidhi Prajapati 11-7, 11-5, 11-2, 11-2 in the final. 

Top seed Abhilash Raval won the Junior (U-19) Boys’ title with an 11-6, 11-6, 11-6, 10-12, 11-3 win over second seed Himansh Dahiya. 

Abhilash won his second title of the day when he and Monish joined hands to beat Riyan Dutta and Neha Patel 11-4, 12-10, 11-7 to win the Open Doubles title. 

Meanwhile, top seed Himansh had something to cheer as he ended rising star Aarya Kataria’s impressive run with a 7-11, 11-7, 7-11, 11-9, 11-2, 11-2 for the Junior (U-17) Boys’ title. 

Despite the loss, Aarya had a lot to cheer for as the youngster won the Sub Junior (U-15) Boys’ title with an 11-2, 11-4, 13-11, 11-7 win over third seed Pratham Mehta. He also won the Cadet (U-13) Boys’ title with an 11-8, 9-11, 11-8, 11-2, 11-8 win over second seed Malav Panchal.

Third seed Moubini Chatterjee too endured a mixed day as she beat top seed Nidhi Prajapati 7-11, 11-8, 12-10, 11-6, 11-3 to win the Sub Junior (U-15) Girls’ title. 

But top seed Moubini suffered an 11-7, 11-8, 9-11, 8-11, 11-4, 8-11, 9-11 loss to second seed Jiya Trivedi in the Cadet (U-13) Girls’ final.

Jenil Patel beat Parv Vyas 4-11, 11-8, 4-11, 15-13, 11-6 to win the Hopes (U-11) Boys’ title while Khwaish Lotiya pipped Fiza Pawar for the Girls’ title. 

Veteran star Prasunna Parekh won the Women’s 39+ Final with an 11-8, 11-3, 11-9 win over Neha Patel while Amish Patel won the Men’s title with an 11-6, 11-6, 11-4 win over Mitul Vyas. 

Pawar Chaudhari won the Men’s 49+ title with an 11-4, 11-9, 11-9 win over JK Parmar while Anil Bhaskaran beat Ajay Patel 14-12, 11-8, 11-9 for the Men’s 59+ title.