19 ITBP officials awarded with medals on 73rd Independence Day

binod takiawala

14 August, 2019, New Delhi: 19 ITBP officials have been announced to
be conferred with Police Medals on the occasion of 73 rd Independence
Day, 2019, 05 of them would be conferred with Police Medal for
Gallantry, 04 with President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service
while 10 would be conferred with Police Medal for Meritorious service.
(I) Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG):-
1. Sh. Rajesh Kumar, Dy. Commandant, 44 th Battalion, ITBP
2. Sh. Jitender, Inspector (GD), 44 th Battalion, ITBP
3. Sh. Sukhdev Donkari, Head Constable (GD), 44 th Battalion,
4. Sh. Anil Negi, Constable (GD), 44 th Battalion, ITBP
5. Sh. Mahesh Kumar, Constable (GD), 44 th Battalion, ITBP
These 5 ITBP men of 44 th Battalion ITBP have been awarded with
Police Medal for Gallantry for displaying exemplary valour and extra
ordinary courage in a naxal encounter that took place on 25 October,
2017 in the Jungles of Kamkasur and Kopankarka in Rajnandgaon in
Chhattisgarh. After a night long encounter, 3 Naxal PLGA LOS
Commanders/Area Committee members namely- Rakesh Dugga,
Mahesh Potavi and Ranjeet Nureti carrying rewards of 5, 5 and 3 Lac
were gunned down by Sh Rajesh Kumar, Dy Commandant, Inspector
Jitendra, Head Constable Sukhdev Donkari, Constable Anil Negi, and
Constable Mahesh Kumar of 44 th Battalion ITBP.
(II) President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service:-
1. Sh. Bhabatosh Sinha, DIG, Central Frontier, ITBP
2. Sh. Jaipal Yadav, DIG, SHQ (L&C)
3. Sh. Rabindra Pandey, DIG (Engineer), Northern Frontier,
4. Sh. Balraj Singh, SM, 49 th Bn, ITBP

(III) Police Medal for Meritorious Service:-
1. Sh. Shashi Bhushan Sharma, DIG, NW Frontier, ITBP
2. Sh. Raj Kishor Sah, DIG, Signal Trg. School, ITBP
3. Sh. Mahesh Kalawat, Commandant (Engineer), FHQ, ITBP
4. Sh. Dhirendra Singh Negi, Second-in-Command, FHQ, ITBP
5. Sh. Ranjeet Kumar Singh, Dy. Commandant, 22 nd Bn, ITBP
6. Smt. Bhanita Timungapi, Assistant Commandant, SHQ
(Dibrugarh), ITBP
7. Sh. Rajendra Singh, Inspector, NE Frontier, ITBP
8. Sh. Ombir Singh, Inspector, CTC, ITBP
9. Sh. Babu Lal, Inspector, 31 st Bn, ITBP
10. Sh. Sate Singh Bisht, ASI, ITBP Academy (Mussoorie)
Shri SS Deswal, DG, ITBP has conveyed his congratulations
to the medalists.